Wildlife Laws to Know About in Alaska
An Alaskan fishing trip can be a life-changing experience. It’s simultaneously restful and exciting, serene and challenging. And when you’re casting your line into the stunning waters of Alaska, you get to fish surrounded by some of the most jaw-droppingly beautiful environments in the world. To be sure, whether you’re surrounded by friends or family (or both), whether it’s your first time or your hundredth, a fishing trip in Alaska isn’t to be missed.
When you plan your once-in-a-lifetime trip, though, you will want to make sure your visit isn’t marred by a run-in with the law. To keep the pristine wilderness of Alaska overflowing with nature’s bounty, the state asks anglers to follow some specific guidelines. Here are some pertinent Alaskan wildlife laws to know before you set out.
You want a sport fishing license
There are four classifications of fisher in the state of Alaska: commercial, sport, subsistence and personal use. While the “personal use” classification might seem like the right one for you, the odds are good that you won’t even qualify for one if you’re not a state resident. Most visitors to Alaska sign up for a sport fishing license.
The harvest record
In Alaska, when you catch a fish with a sport fishing license, it is referred to as a harvested fish. Several species of fish have annual catch limits imposed so fishers won’t push too hard on the species’ overall population. To keep track of those catches, the Alaska Department of Fish & Game’s Division of Sport Fish has created the Sport Fishing Harvest Record Card.
This straightforward record requires you to catalogue the date, place and species you catch while you’re on the water. It’s a simple request of fishers that not only keeps you on the right side of the law, but it can also serve as a fun souvenir of your trip!
The age limit
Another relevant wildlife law to keep in mind in Alaska is the under-10 rule. Residents and non-residents under the age of 10 are not required to get a sport fishing license or keep a Harvest Record Card. That said, young fishers are only allowed to cast a line when they’re under the direct supervision of a licensed sport fisher at least 16 years or older. What’s more, the young fisher’s catch count must be recorded on the supervising fisher’s Harvest Record Card. Catches by both anglers count toward the supervisor’s overall count.
Let us keep you happy
These are just some of the basic Alaskan wildlife laws that apply to anglers, but sticking to the rules and regulations are easy when you schedule your fishing expedition with the right charter service. When you take a trip with Phantom Tri-River Charters, we’ll take the time to educate your entire party so everyone can have a fantastic time even as they aid in preserving Alaska’s natural splendor.
For more than 25 years, Phantom Tri-River Charters has been the go-to company for top-notch Alaskan fishing tours. Find out what you’ve been missing—give us a call or visit us online today!
Categorised in: Alaskan Fishing Trip